Leicester Comedy Festival

News: New General Manager For Leicester Comedy Festival

Big Difference Company, the charity behind the annual Leicester Comedy Festival, has appointed a new General Manager to lead the organisation and support Geoff Rowe and the existing team in the development of the event and the year round community programme. Helen Tomblin will formally join the organisation on 1st August 2018 and will be based in the main office at LCB Depot, located in Leicester’s Cultural Quarter.  

News: Funding Campaign Launched To Support New Comics

Organisers of the annual Leicester Comedy Festival are appealing to comedy fans and members of the public to pledge money to enable the festival to develop their support for new and emerging comedians.

News: Leicester Comedy Festival Awards Handed Out

The Leicester Comedy Festival has hosted its annual award ceremony at The Haymarket Theatre (Leicester) honouring comedians, venues and promoters. The ceremony was hosted by Mark Dolan and attended by Nicholas Parsons who collected the Legend of Comedy Award. Previous legends have included Victoria Wood, Barry Cryer, Rik Mayall, Ken Dodd and Sir Norman Wisdom.

The awards, set up in 2006, recognise the contribution people make to the February festival

Leicester Comedy Festival Sets Up Comedy School

Organisers of the annual Leicester Comedy Festival are setting up a comedy school as part of the 25th anniversary celebrations of the event.  The Laugh Term Comedy School will run from 12-16th February and will be based at Moat Community College, supported by De Montfort University.

News: Leicester Comedy Festival Celebrates Bumper Year

This year's Leicester Comedy Festival, which finished on Sunday, is celebrating record box office returns, with sales up 22% on last year, reinforcing its position as the leading UK festival dedicated to comedy.

Live Review, UK Pun Championships Final, De Montfort Hall, Leicester Comedy Festival

This year’s UK Pun Championships Final went the full WWF. The eight finalists didn’t perform on a stage, they had their joke-offs in a wrestling ring MC’d by Jason Byrne, who press-ganged audience members – in the nicest possible way –  into announcing each round by running round the ring holding cards up. 

News: Romesh Ranganathan on his Comedy Childhood: “Even then I knew I needed an angle.”

Report by Claire Smith.

Romesh Ranganathan was on the point of giving up comedy after the death of his father, he told an audience at Leicester Comedy Festival. 

News: Leicester Comedy Festival Founder Issues Statement

Geoff Rowe, who founded the Leicester Comedy Festival in 1994, has sent out the following comedic statement.

News: Leicester Comedy Festival Gets Lottery Funding For Special Project

Leicester Comedy Festival has received £37,000 from the Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) for an exciting project which will celebrate the history of comedy and humour.  “A Funny City” will culminate with an exhibition and website drawing on the memories of people living in Leicester telling the story of comedy and humour in the city since 1979 – when the phrase “alternative comedy” was first used.

News: Dave's Leicester Comedy Festival Line-Up Launched

The brochure for Dave’s Leicester Comedy Festival 2016 is launched today.

England's longest running comedy festival runs from February 3 - 21. The festival’s 23rd year is set to be its most diverse and inventive yet.


Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.