News: Wins For Alexei Sayle, Phil Wang, Rebecca Front And Ian Martin At BBC Audio Drama Awards

News: Wins For Alexei Sayle, Phil Wang And Rebecca Front At BBC Audio Drama Awards

Alexei Sayle, Phil Wang And Rebecca Front have all won awards at the BBC Audio Drama Awards.

Sayle won Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show) for Alexei Sayle’s Imaginary Sandwich Bar.

Rebecca Front won Best Actress for her performance as Fiona in the Alcoholics Anonymous-inspired Love in Recovery. 

Phil Wang won Best Scripted Comedy (Longform) Category for his comedy Wangsplaining.

Writer Ian Martin, who was known as the 'swearing consultant' on The Thick of It, won the Tinniswood Award for his radio work The Hartlepool Spy.

The awards took place at New Broadcasting House in London and were hosted by Meera Syal. The evening also included a tribute to Nicholas Parsons by BBC Commissioning Editor for Comedy on Radio 4, Sioned Wiliam.

All are BBC Radio programmes. A full list of winners is below.

Best Original Single Drama

Sea Longing by Elizabeth Kuti, producer Karen Rose, director Jo McInnes, Sweet Talk, BBC Radio 3

Best Original Series or Serial

Life Lines by Al Smith, producer Sally Avens, BBC Radio Drama London, BBC Radio 4

Best Adaptation

Black Water: An American Story by Joyce Carol Oates, adapted by Sarah Wooley, producer Gaynor Macfarlane, BBC Scotland, BBC Radio 4

Best Actor

Stephen Dillane, Sea Longing, director Jo McInnes, Sweet Talk, BBC Radio 3

Best Actress

Rebecca Front, Love in Recovery, director Ben Worsfield, King Bert, BBC Radio 4

Best Director

Mary Ward-Lowery, Talk to Me: HP Lovecraft, BBC Bristol, BBC Radio 4

Best Debut Performance

George Kent, A Kestrel for a Knave, director Fiona McAlpine, Goldhawk Essential, BBC Radio 4

Best Use of Sound

The Invisible, sound by Steve Brooke with Sharon Hughes, producer Nadia Molinari, BBC Radio Drama North, BBC Radio 3

Best Scripted Comedy (Longform)

Phil Wang: Wangsplaining by Phil Wang, producer Matt Stronge, BBC Studios, BBC Radio 4

Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)

Alexei Sayle’s Imaginary Sandwich Bar by Alexei Sayle, producer Joe Nunnery, BBC Studios, BBC Radio 4

Best Podcast or Online Audio Drama

Passenger List created by John Scott Dryden, Lauren Shippen and Mark Henry Phillips, Goldhawk Productions, Radiotopia

Best European Drama 

Buzz Suppression – Recording Strictly off the Record by Ulrich Bassenge, producers Ulrich Bassenge, Martina Müller-Wallraff and Anina Barandun, WDR (Germany) and SRF (Switzerland)


The Amazing Maya Angelou 


Bathwater, by Vicky Foster. Sue Roberts (producer) for BBC Radio 4 (BBC Radio Drama North)

COMMENDATION: By God’s Mercy, by Colette Victor. David Hunter (producer) for BBC World Service (BBC Radio Drama London)


The Hartlepool Spy, by Ian Martin. Sam Ward (producer) for BBC Radio 4 (BBC Studios)

COMMENDATION: Home Front – A Fragile Peace, by Katie Hims. Jessica Dromgoole (producer) for BBC Radio 4 (BBC Radio Drama London)



Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.