News: Winner Of The BBC Introducing Radio 4 Comedy Award Final Announced

News: Winner Of The Radio 4 Comedy Award Final Announced

The winner of the BBC Introducing Radio 4 Comedy Award Final has been revealed in the BBC Tent and at the Edinburgh Fringe. 

Mark Watson (pictured) compered the final which featured Janine Harouni, Hannah Platt, Josh Jones, Donald Alexander and Mo Omar.

Previous finalists include Lee Mack and Peter Kay. Last year's winner was Glaswegian stand-up Stephen Buchanan.

And the winner this year, following in the footsteps of previous winners Rhod Gilbert, Lucy Beaumont and Alan Carr, is Janine Harouni.

"All five of the gave great performamces tonight," said judge and Comedy Commissiong Editor Sioned William. Fellow judge and stand-up Simon Evans compared the judging room to a "turkish brothel" and joked that "we just picked one out of a hat frankly." Comic and judge Zoe Lyons praised the performers' confidence.

You can listen to the final on BBC Sounds and watch it on BBC iPlayer

Read a review of the final here.


Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.