News: Funny Women Semi-Finalists And All-Star Judges Revealed

News: Funny Women Final – Resuls

The leading showcase for British female comedy talent, the Funny Women Stage Award, has arrived at the semi-final stage in its annual search for the next household names.

Now in their 16th year, previous winners and finalists of the Funny Women Awards include Katherine Ryan, Zoe Lyons, Jayde Adams, Desiree Burch, Harriet Braine, Sara Pascoe, Sarah Millican, Susan Calman, Rachel Parris, Bridget Christie, Kerry Godliman and Roisin Conaty, with Thanyia Moore as the current title holder.

This year’s Stage Award semi-finalists – who have fought their way through 433 entrants - are revealed here. Listings for each semi-final and the Grand Final are below. 

Meanwhile, a diverse and hugely talented array of judges has been announced for the coveted Comedy Writing Award and the Comedy Shorts Award, for which entries are flooding in before the deadline of 31 July.

The Comedy Shorts Awards' incredible panel of judges will include: BBC Comedy Commissioning Editor, Sarah Asante; BBC Head Of Comedy, Kate Daughton; Sky Comedy Commissioning Editor, Tilusha Ghelani and Channel 4 Head Of Comedy, Fiona McDermott.

The Comedy Writing Awards judges will include: Bafta Rocliffe founder and producer, Farah Abushwesha; award-winning comedy actor, Shobu Kapoor, and writer of Channel 4’s Pure, Kirstie Swain.

Funny Women CEO, Lynne Parker said: “This is my 16th run of the Funny Women Awards and I am still as passionate about developing and supporting new female comedy as I was in 2003. There's always excitement, revelations and surprises and this year is no exception. Our partnership with Sky has been invaluable and ensured that we could see and showcase brilliant new talent across the UK and Ireland. As we now go into the final phase, we look forward to attracting even more partners to bring you the best entertainment and help us spread the word about Funny Women.”

Funny Women Semi Finals

Greater Manchester Fringe, Frog and Bucket on Wednesday 24th July; 7.30pm - 10pm (MC - Mandy Muden)

Brighton, Komedia on Saturday 27th July; 8.00pm – 10pm (MC - Julie Jepson)

Camden Fringe, London, Dingwalls on Wednesday 31st July; 7.30pm - 10pm (MC - Sindhu Vee)

Edinburgh Fringe, Assembly George Square, Studio One on Saturday 24th August; 2.05pm – 3.05pm (MC - Thanyia Moore)

The Grand Final will be at the Bloomsbury Theatre, London on Thursday, 19th September between 7.30pm and 10pm -

This year’s Grand Final will be the biggest in Funny Women History. It will feature the Stage Award finals but also the announcement of the winners of the Comedy Writing Awards, the Best New Web series, the Best Show Winners and also the screening of the top Comedy Shorts Award finalists and announcement of their winner!

Don’t Forget:

Best Show Award - Nominate your favourite show!

The show with the most nominations wins!

All details at:




Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.