Sophie Willan Wins Bafta

Sophie Willan Wins Bafta

Comedian Sophie Willan has won a Bafta for Best Writer: Comedy for her new comedy Alma's Not Normal.

Only a pilot has been broadcast so far, but. a series has just been filmed and will hopefully be broadcast on BBC Two later this year.

The other nominees were Charlie Brooker for his Antiviral Wrap, Charlie and Daisy May Cooper for This Country and the team behind hit BBC sitcom Ghosts.

The win was announced at the British Academy Television Craft Awards, celebrating the very best behind-the-scenes television talent of 2020. The ceremony, broadcast on BAFTA’s YouTube and Facebook channels, was hosted by Gbemisola Ikumelo, co-written by Ikumelo and Akemnji Ndifornyen, and featured guest presenters including Annie Wallace, Ellen Thomas, Nathaniel Martello-White, Tony Robinson, Max Harwood and Mawaan Rizwan.

Elsewhere Small Axe, the drama mini-series about the lives of West Indian immigrants in London in the 1960s, ‘70s and ‘80s was successful in five categories: JoJo Williams for Make Up & Hair Design; Jacqueline Durran for Costume Design; Helen Scott for Production Design; Shabier Kirchner for Photography & Lighting: Fiction; and Gary Davy for Scripted Casting.

I May Destroy You, the drama series featuring a woman who seeks to rebuild her life after a sexual assault, saw Michaela Coel and Sam Miller win in Director: Fiction, with Michaela Coel also collecting the award for Writer: Drama and the Editing Team winning Editing: Fiction.

His Dark Materials, the drama based on Philip Pullman’s trilogy of novels, received two awards: Jon Thomas, Gareth Bull, James Ridgway, Dillon Bennett, Eilam Hoffman and James Drake won Sound: Fiction and Russell Dodgson, James Whitlam, Jean-Clement Soret, Robert Harrington, Dan May and Brian Fisher won Special, Visual & Graphic Effects.

Lee Miller – A Life on the Front Line, which follows the story of a model-turned-war reporter, won Editing: Factual for Claire Guillon and Director: Factual for first-time winner Teresa Griffiths.

BAFTA continues to shine a spotlight on the very best emerging talent in the industry with the Emerging Talent: Fiction categorywon this year by Georgi Banks-Davies for her directorial debut, I Hate SuzieEmerging Talent: Factual saw another first-time director Marian Mohamed win for Defending Digga D.

Other first-time winners included: Marcus Viner, Director: Multi-Camera for ENO’s Drive & Live: La bohèmeHarry EscottOriginal Music for Roadkill.

The award for Entertainment Craft Team was presented to Mark Busk-Cowley, Roy Callow, Steve Kruger, Andy Milligan, James Tinsley and Mathieu Weekes for I’m a Celebrity…Get Me Out of Here!

The award for Sound: Factual was won by Nick Fry, Steve Speed, James Evans and Hugh Dwan for Formula 1: Drive to Survive. The award for Photography: Factual was awarded to Johnny Shipley, Drone Camera Team and John Livesey for The Great Mountain Sheep GatherTitles & Graphic Identity was won by Nic Benns and Miki Kato for Fear City: New York vs The Mafia.

Picture: BBC




Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.