News: Major Monty Python Release To Mark 50th Anniversary

News: Major Monty Python Release To Mark 50th Anniversary

To celebrate 50 years since Monty Python’s Flying Circus first aired on television, UMC and Virgin EMI are reissuing Monty Python’s seminal album Monty Python Sings (again) for the first time on vinyl on October 4th. The 2LP release will come in a double gatefold sleeve with new packaging design overseen by Terry Gilliam himself. The album, originally released as Monty Python Sings in 1989 and then re-released in 2014 on CD and digital download, is made up of 32 classic songs from across Monty Python’s illustrious career and now also includes Stephen Hawking’s 2015 version of ‘Galaxy Song’.

The double disc vinyl will come in a double gatefold sleeve with a wide-spine and new artwork on the two printed inner sleeves, as well as a die-cut image on the front of the sleeve, allowing for interchangeable artwork from the four sides.  The new packaging design is a mix of Monty Python artwork and classic images, with the inner gatefold image being a group photo by Andy Gotts; a rare outtake of the original photo used on the 2014 CD. The audio will be cut over sides 1,2 and 3 of the two 180g vinyl, with side 4 being a special etching of the new Monty Python 50th anniversary logo.

On October 5th 1969, Monty Python first appeared on our TV screens, beginning a phenomenon that would revolutionise British comedy. Over the past 50 years, the comedy group, made up of John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, Michael Palin and the late Graham Chapman, have created 4 TV series, 5 films, 18 albums and multiple tours and live shows. Monty Python Sings was first released in 1989 to celebrate their 20th anniversary, and was re-released in 2014 as Monty Python Sings (again) on CD and digital download, adding six previously unreleased songs to classics such as ‘Always Look on The Bright Side of Life’, ‘Knights of The Round Table (Camelot Song)’ and ‘Lumberjack Song’.

Order the album here:

Monty Python Sings (again) Track List:



Side 1

  1. Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life

  2. Meaning Of Life

  3. The Silly Walk Song

  4. Penis Song (Not The Noel Coward Song)

  5. Money Song

  6. Oliver Cromwell

  7. Accountancy Shanty

  8. Finland

  9. Medical Love Song

  10. I'm So Worried


Side 2

  1. Every Sperm Is Sacred - 2014 Rework

  2. I Like Chinese

  3. The Naval Medley

  4. Sit On My Face

  5. Never Be Rude To An Arab

  6. Eric The Half A Bee

  7. Brian Song

  8. Rudyard Kipling

  9. Nudge Rap / Blackmail

  10. Bruces' Philosophers' Song



Side 3

  1. Knights Of The Round Table

  2. All Things Dull And Ugly

  3. Decomposing Composers

  4. Henry Kissinger

  5. I've Got Two Legs

  6. Rainy Day In Berlin

  7. Christmas In Heaven

  8. Galaxy Song

  9. Spam Song

  10. Lousy Song

  11. Lumberjack Song

  12. Stephen Hawking Sings Monty Python… Galaxy Song

Order the album here:



Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.