News: Finalists Announced For Amused Moose Comedy Award 2019 Plus New York Link Up

News: Results Of The Amused Moose Comedy Award 2019.

Amused Moose Comedy has revealed the seven nominated Fringe comedy shows in the Amused Moose Comedy Award 2019.  

The 'super seven' will compete for the shiny moose trophies, fame and glory in the final of the Amused Moose Comedy Award at 10pm on Wednesday 21 August at Just The Tonic's Grassmarket Centre, 86 Candlemaker Row (at junction with Cowgate), Edinburgh EH1 2QA. Buy tickets here.

Further to that the Soho Playhouse in New York has partnered with Amused Moose Comedy which is based in London's Soho, to offer the Amused Moose Comedy Award winner a two week run in the Soho Playhouse Fringe Encore Series this autumn. This is the Off-Broadway theatre where Hannah Gadsby and Phoebe Waller-Bridge have performed and Daniel Sloss sold over 7000 tickets during two runs there this year.

This New York showcase is in addition to the Amused Moose Comedy Award showcase at Soho Theatre in October.

The Amused Moose Comedy Award 2019's super seven finalists are:

  • AARON SIMMONDS: Disabled Coconut
  • JANINE HAROUNI: Stand Up with Janine Harouni (Please Remain Seated)
  • LIAM WITHNAIL: Homecoming
  • PAUL F TAYLOR: Odd Paul

The trophies will be presented by Shona McCarthy, Edinburgh Fringe CEO.

The Amused Moose Comedy Award searches for the best comedy shows at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe from talent on the cusp of fame.  Entry to the Amused Moose Comedy Awards, the ‘senior strand’ of the Amused Moose competitions, is open to all shows listed in the comedy section on the Edinburgh Fringe website ( for at least 18 dates, which have not previously won nor been nominated for any other major comedy award.  The Super Seven finalists have been selected by an industry panel, including critics, promoters and producers, who have watched and scored all entries online, before viewing the long-list live in Edinburgh.

The finalists will perform 8 to 10 minute segments from their shows in the Amused Moose Comedy Award Grand Final, battling it out in their next step on the road to stardom, emulating previous winners Tony Law, Marcel Lucont, Celia Pacquola and Richard Gadd. Then the audience votes, and an industry panel ratifies the scores.



Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.