News: HowTheLightGetsIn Festival announces 2019 Comedy Programme for 10th Anniversary Year

News: Last Leg Guests Tonight

HowTheLightGetsIn, the world’s largest philosophy and music festival that gathers Nobel Prize winners, politicians and comedians together with the hottest music performers, has announced its comedy line up for this year’s festival, May 24th-27th 2019.

Last year’s comedy programme was the highlight of a five-star review in The Independent, winning HTLGI praise for big names and alternative offerings alike. This year, HTLGI is thrilled to announce its most spectacular programme ever – standout comedians promise boundary-crossing comedy performances, with rising stars alongside established favourites.

Leading the bill is star of Netflix, Dave’s Taskmaster and Live At The Apollo Phil Wang, one of the UK’s most exciting stand-up comedians who brings his unique stage presence to HowTheLightGetsIn. His internationally-acclaimed live shows have propelled him to appearances on Have I Got News for You, Would I Lie To You?, 8 out of 10 Cats Does Countdown, and The Great British Bake Off. Relaxed and wry – yet filled with brilliantly sly, acerbic punchlines – he’s also the creator of his own Radio 4 series, Wangsplaining. “Hugely entertaining... a properly funny stand-up comic.” (The Times)

Also featured is Lou Sanders, whose star continues to soar after garnering rave reviews for her show “Shame Pig” – voted Best Show at the 2018 Edinburgh Fringe by her fellow comedians – and appearances of Dave’s Hypothetical, coupled with being a regular contestant on the latest series of Taskmaster. Brilliantly bonkers, her comedy is a blend of the surreal, punchy and innovative – expect an eclectic mix of shocking confessions, eyebrow-raising anecdotes and improvisational gold. “Terrific company…lurid gags from the comedian’s comedian.” (The Guardian)

Celebrated British comedian and festival favourite Ahir Shah returns to HowTheLightGetsIn with two nominations for Best Show at the Edinburgh Comedy Awards under his belt. Ahir's current show, DUFFER, debuted at the 2018 Edinburgh Fringe, where it enjoyed a critically acclaimed sell-out run and earned Shah his second Best Show nomination in a row. His fiery and funny stand up is political comedy at its finest, and has been described as “charismatic and of rewardingly cerebral approach”(The Guardian), and “intricately crafted, profoundly moving, howlingly funny” (The Daily Telegraph). 

There’s also Tony Law, simply the greatest surrealist stand-up of the past 10 years. He has previously been nominated for Best Show at the Edinburgh Comedy Awards, and appeared on Have I Got News For You, Russell Howard’s Good News andNever Mind the Buzzcocks. In 2017 he co-created ‘The Battle for Icetopia” – an experimental comedy opera on ice that won the Chortle Award for Event of the Year. This is post-modern stand-up taken to dangerously funny new levels.

A fellow nominee for Best Show at the Edinburgh Comedy Awards is Glen Moore, critically-acclaimed joke machine and regular presenter on Absolute Radio. Glen is an in-demand writer for TV and Radio who has appeared on Mock the Week, and his 2018 show at the Edinburgh Fringe earned praise from The Guardian as “the best showcase of pure joke-writing skill on the fringe…blissfully silly, expertly stitched together – you could assemble a killer top 10 jokes of the fringe from these 60 minutes alone.”

Heidi Regan, winner of the 2017 BBC New Comedy Award and So You Think You’re Funny is also appearing. Heidi’s quirky, absurd and philosophical brand of comedy has been acclaimed by industry insiders and audiences alike, and has seen her star rise fast since her first stage appearance just four years ago. She has been nominated for no fewer than 12 comedy awards for her whip-smart writing and inimitable live performances – though Regan is prone to make light of her success with her trademark brand of deadpan Australian humour.  

Also featured at HowTheLightGetsIn 2019: 

Robyn Perkins, English Comedian of the Year Finalist  /  Co-host of The Guilty Feminist, and star of BBC's Motherland Jess Fosteskew  /  charismatic and fiercely intelligent Olga Koch, whose 2018 debut show ‘Fight’ was nominated for Best Newcomer at the Edinburgh Comedy Awards  /  Rising star of the British comedy scene Alex Kealy  /  Smart, dark stand-up from Micky Overman, nominated for Chortle’s Best Newcomer  /  Laura Lexx, infectious, upbeat, and "one of the most delightful performers you're ever likely to see" (GQ)  /  comedian, writer and actor Brett Goldstein, fresh from appearances on Ricky Gervais’ Derek andDoctor Who  /  Star of Radio 4’s News Quiz Eleanor Tiernan, “storyteller par excellence" (Time Out, London)  /  Huge Davies, coming to HowTheLightGetsIn after appearances on Comedy Central and at The Comedy Store  /  Garrett Millerick /  Stuart Laws  /  Sarah Bennetto  /  Ben van der Velde  /  and more

Festival director Hilary Lawson said: “As night begins to fall, HowTheLightGetsIn turns from a hub of intellectual activity into a den of hilarity and mayhem. But of course the jokes are smart too. With an indecently funny comedy line-up, we’re incredibly excited that this year’s festival promises Edinburgh headliners rubbing shoulders with some of the best up-and-coming talent on the UK comedy circuit.”

Taking place 24 – 27 May, HowTheLightGetsIn will feature more than 200 events, including over 80 debates and talksalongside 100 musicians and performers, comedians as well as banquets, film, parties, cabaret and more. There’s nowhere else in the world where you can dance into the night with Nobel laureates to the sounds of Mercury Prize nominees. Get ready for a unique party like no other.

Advance tickets for the full weekend are available from £144. Full weekend camping tickets start from £164. All students and under 25s are eligible for a 30% discount. Tickets and details here.


Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.