News: Joe Pasquale, Joe Thomas, Arabella Weir, Elis James Lined Up for Celebrity Mastermind

Terry Alderton

Joe Pasquale,  Joe Thomas, Arabella Weir, Mark Dolan, Terry Alderton (pictured) and Elis James are among the competitors in Celebrity Mastermind on BBC One this Christmas

A host of names from the world of music, television, sport, comedy and politics will be put under spotlight as they take a seat in the famous black chair.  John Humphrys will quiz them not only on their general knowledge but find out how much they really know about their chosen specialist subject. 

Celebrity Mastermind first hit the TV screen in 2002 as a special where Jonathan Meades, writer and film-maker beat off competition from Adam Hart-Davis, Janet Street-Porter and Vic Reeves to take the first title.  Since then over 500 celebrities have sat in the chair, under the spotlight facing the infamous theme tune “Approaching Menace".  There have also been as many specialist subjects ranging from the Apollo Space Missions to Winnie The Pooh and Japanese motorcycles to Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band. 

Celebrity Mastermind Line-Up

Amol Rajan – BBC Media Editor

Anna Matronic – singer, Scissor Sisters

Arabella Weir – actor, Two Doors Down

Camilla Kerslake – classical musician

Candice Brown – Great British Bake Off winner - 2016

Christian Brassington – actor Poldark

Claudia-Liza Armah – newsreader

Courtney Act – reality TV personality (Celebrity Big Brother)

Danny Sebastian – antiques expert and presenter

Edwina Currie – former politician

Elis James – comedian

Francis Boulle – reality TV personality (Made in Chelsea)

George Rainsford – actor, Casualty

Holly Hamilton – newsreader

Jay Rayner – journalist and food critic

Jeanette Kwakye – former Olympian

Jenny Colgan – author

Jenny Meadows – former Olympian

Joe Pasquale – comedian

Joe Thomas – actor, Inbetweeners

Madeline Smith – actress, Live and Let Die

Maggie Alphonsi – Rugby Union player

Mark Dolan – comedian

Mark Lane – TV gardening presenter

Mike Bushell – BBC Breakfast journalist

Montana Brown – TV reality star (Love Island)

Monty Panesar – cricketer

Neil Jones – professional dancer (Strictly Come Dancing)

Paul Higgins – actor (Line of Duty)

Reverend Richard Coles – broadcaster

Rickey Boleto – presenter

Sean Fletcher – TV presenter, Countryfile

Sean Wilson – actor (Coronation Street)

Shaun Ryder – singer

Stanley Johnson – author and politician

Stef Reid – Paralympian

Terry Alderton - comedian

Toyah Wilcox – singer

Vassos Alexander – radio presenter and author

YolanDa Brown – Saxophonist and composer

The series starts on BBC One on Friday 21st December. The contestants and their specialist subjects on the first show are: 

Amol Rajan - Shane Warne

Reverend Richard Coles - The Operas of Richard Wagner

Courtney Act - Spice Girls

Mark Lane - The Life and Work of Piet Mondrian



Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.