News: Edinburgh Comedy Award 2017 Nominations Announced

This year's Edinburgh Comedy Award nominations have just been announced. They are as follows: 

The nominations for Best Comedy Show are:


Ahir Shah: Control

Elf Lyons: Swan

Hannah Gadsby - Nanette

John Robins: The Darkness of Robins

Jordan Brookes: Body of Work

Mae Martin: Dope

Mat Ewins Presents Adventureman 7: The Return of Adventureman

Sophie Willan: Branded

Spencer Jones: The Audition


The nominations for Best Newcomer are:

Chris Washington: Dream Big (Within Reason)

Darren Harriott: Defiant

Ed Night: Anthem for Doomed Youth

Kwame Asante: Open Arms

Lauren Pattison: Lady Muck

Lucy Pearman: Maid of Cabbage

Natalie Palamides: LAID

Rob Kemp: The Elvis Dead


Nica Burns, Director of the Awards says: "70 years of the Fringe, 700 eligible shows: a record breaking year for comedy. An excellent long, long-list resulted in a particularly passionate and lively debate by the ten strong judging panel. It is unprecedented  to see an almost gender-equal list with four women on the shortlist of nine, one more nomination than in 2015 and 2016, and some exciting new names for the public to discover."


The winners will be announced on Saturday 26 August at Dovecot Studio, Infirmary Street, by last year's winner Richard Gadd and the 1997 winners The League of Gentlemen.

The Awards and prizes are:-

•Best Comedy Show with a cash prize of £10,000

•Best Newcomer with a cash prize of £5,000

•Panel Prize with a cash prize of £5,000

The winners and nominees can be seen at the Edinburgh Comedy Awards Show on Sunday 28 August at 15.30 at The EICC. Tickets here.

A list of the judges is here.


Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.