News: Finalists Announced For BBC New Comedy Award 2017

The six finalists in this year’s BBC New Comedy Award have been confirmed. They are Aaron Simmonds and Sikisa, both from London, Jacob Hawley from Stevenage, Andy Field from Crawley, Yumna Mohamed from Johannesburg (update - withdrawn, more info here) and Heidi Regan from Newcastle in Australia - both now London residents. In reaching the final, they achieve the same feat as previous winners and finalists including Lee Mack, Peter Kay, Sarah Millican, Alan Carr, Russell Howard, Josie Long, Shappi Khorsandi and Joe Lycett.

Twelve semi-finalists battled it out on Saturday 5th August and Sunday 6th August (broadcast on BBC Radio 4 Extra on Tuesday 8th August and Wednesday 9th August) for a place in the final, which will be held at the Edinburgh Fringe on Sunday 13th August and broadcast live on BBC Radio 4. On the night, the finalists will perform in front of an esteemed panel of judges comprised of comedians Hugh Dennis and Jenny Eclair and Radio 4’s Commissioning Editor for Comedy, Sioned Wiliam, before the winner is crowned.

The winner will take home £1000 and a 15 minute script commission from BBC Studios. All finalists will be mentored by the BBC Studios comedy team across the year and receive advice, guidance and the chance to write for and appear in slots across the BBC.

The final of the BBC New Comedy Award will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 4 on Sunday 13th August at 6.15pm, hosted by Mark Watson and featuring a performance from special guest and former BBC New Comedy Award finalist, Tez Illyas.

Read interviews with the finalists here.


Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.