20 Emmy Nominations for Ted Lasso

 Ted Lasso Triumphs At The Emmys

Apple's hit football comedy Ted Lasso has received 20 Emmy nominations, making it the most nominated comedy series this year, and the most nominated freshman comedy series in history. 

The 20 nominations include Outstanding Comedy Series; Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series for Jason Sudeikis; two nominations for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for Hannah Waddingham and Juno Temple; four nominations for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series for Brendan Hunt, Brett Goldstein, Jeremy Swift and Nick Mohammed; three nominations for Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series; two nominations for Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series; and two nominations for Outstanding Single-Picture Editing in a Comedy Series. 

Apple also earned nominations across 10 total programmes including “Mythic Quest,” “Central Park,” “Servant,” “Billie Eilish: The World’s A Little Blurry,” “Boys State,” “Mariah Carey’s Magical Christmas Special,” “Bruce Springsteen’s Letter To You,” “The Year Earth Changed” and “Carpool Karaoke: The Series” for this year’s Primetime Emmy Awards. 

Zack Van Amburg, head of Apple Worldwide Video said: "Nothing is more exciting for us than witnessing our exceptionally talented cast and creative teams be recognized for their extraordinary work. We love the evolution and growth of the stories being told in our Apple Originals, and we can’t wait for audiences to experience even more in the upcoming seasons,” said Jamie Erlicht, head of Apple Worldwide Video. "It is an incredible achievement for so many of our programs to be recognized by the Television Academy today across these different categories and we couldn’t be more proud of everyone involved.”

Jason Sudeikis plays Ted Lasso, an American football coach hired to manage a British soccer team – despite having no experience. But what he lacks in knowledge, he makes up for with optimism, underdog determination … and biscuits. The widely acclaimed series also stars Hannah Waddingham, Brendan Hunt, Jeremy Swift, Juno Temple, Brett Goldstein, Phil Dunster and Nick Mohammed. Sarah Niles joins the cast this season as Sharon, a sports psychologist who has been brought in to work with AFC Richmond.

The winners of the 73rd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will be announced on September 19, 2021. 

Picture: Apple TV




Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.