News: Cast Announced For New Series Of Inside No. 9

News: Cast Announced For New Series Of Inside No. 9

Filming has wrapped on the latest series of Inside No. 9, Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith’s anthology of darkly comic tales.

Made by BBC Studios and coming later this year to BBC Two and BBC iPlayer, the new run of the unmissably thrilling comedy series will once again include six stand-alone stories and will be broadcast weekly.

The cast for series 6 will include Sian Clifford (Fleabag, Quiz), Adrian Dunbar (Line of Duty), Paterson Joseph (Peep Show, Noughts + Crosses), Lindsay Duncan (A Discovery of Witches, Black Mirror), Kevin Bishop (Porridge), Nick Mohammed (Intelligence), Bhavna Limbachia (Coronation Street, Citizen Khan), Sarah Parish (W1A, Atlantis) and Gemma Whelan (The End of the F***ing World, Game of Thrones, Upstart Crow), with more names set to be confirmed in due course.

Sir Derek Jacobi becomes the first actor to return to Inside No. 9 after providing the voice of Dennis Fulcher in the critically acclaimed series 3 episode ‘The Devil of Christmas’.

Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton say: “We started filming in March last year but had to hit pause due to the pandemic. After a nine-month gestation it’s a relief to finally deliver our 6th series to the world. As proud parents we couldn’t possibly choose a favourite, but like any youngest sibling this series is cheeky, funny - and can get away with murder…”

Shane Allen, Controller, BBC Comedy Commissioning, says: “Reece and Steve plough yet more fertile genre bending ground as their relentless powers of invention grip, dazzle and amuse in surprising new ways. Their writing draws the cream of British comedy talent to these modern master-pieces”

Josh Cole, Head of Comedy, BBC Studios Production, says: “We’re delighted to have concluded filming the sixth season of Inside No. 9. It's a unique series we could not be prouder of, and we are in awe of Reece and Steve’s extraordinary ability to continually raise the bar. Long live Inside No. 9!"

Since its launch in 2014, Inside No. 9 has received widespread critical acclaim and has won an entire credenza of awards, including the comedy prize at the 2016 Rose d'Or, two RTS Awards and two BAFTA TV Craft Awards (including Comedy Writing), South Bank Show and Writers' Guild awards. In addition to this, Steve Pemberton won the Best Male Performance in a Comedy Programme at the 2019 BAFTA TV Awards.

All previous episodes of Inside No. 9 are available to watch now on BBC iPlayer and the broadcast details for series 6 will be confirmed in due course.

Inside No. 9 is a BBC Studios Comedy Production created and written by Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton, commissioned by Shane Allen, Controller, BBC Comedy Commissioning and Patrick Holland, Controller BBC Two. The Executive Producer is Jon Plowman (Absolutely Fabulous, W1A) and the series is produced by Adam Tandy (The Thick Of It, Detectorists). The Commissioning Editor for the BBC is Gregor Sharp.


Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.