News: Jenny Eclair, Mark Gatiss Join Celebrity Portrait Artist Line-Up

News: Jenny Eclair, Mark Gatiss Join Celebrity Portrait Artist Line-Up

Jenny Eclair and Mark Gatiss are among the amateur artists in this year's Celebrity Portrait Artist of the Year. .

Stephen Mangan and Joan Bakewell are back on Sky Arts, the UK’s only TV channel dedicated to arts, music and culture, on Tuesday 17 December at 8pm with a brand-new series.

For the second year running, the special one-off episode will see celebrity artists compete to see who has what it takes to be crowned Celebrity Portrait Artist of 2019. 

Taking to the easel this year are a host of well-known faces from the world of entertainment; James Fleet (Four Weddings & A Funeral), Anneka Rice (Strictly Come Dancing/Challenge Anneka), Mark Gatiss (Sherlock), Fenella Woolgar (Judy/Victoria & Abdul) and Jenny Éclair (Author/Comedian). Our artists will paint celebrity sitters; Denise Lewis (Olympian), Martha Plimpton (The Goonies) and Laurence Fox (Victoria).

Following the Celebrity Special, Portrait Artist of the Year is confirmed to return in early 2020.

Landscape Artist of the Year and Portrait Artist of the Year are produced by London-based independent production company Storyvault Films. Landscape Artist of the Year first aired four years ago following the enormous success of Sky Arts’ Portrait Artist of the Year (also from Storyvault Films) that has captured public imagination since its launch in 2013. The show boasts the titles of “best-performing, non-scripted series of all time” and second-biggest series ever for Sky Arts, second to Portrait Artist of the Year, with viewing figures growing over the course of both series. The Celebrity Special returns for the second year in a row ahead of Christmas.

Landscape Artist of the Year was commissioned by Zai Bennett, Managing Director of Content, Sky UK and Ireland and Phil Edgar-Jones, Director of Entertainment. The series was produced by Storyvault and the commissioning editor for Sky is Bill Hobbins.  The executive producers for Storyvault are Danielle Graham, Stuart Prebble and Samantha Richards.


Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.