News: Amused Moose Announces New Comic Award Winners

Following the final of the Amused Moose National New Comic award in Edinburgh, Babatunde Aleshi was named 2019 winner of the prestigious Amused Moose National New Comic award based on the all votes of the comedy industry panel and the audience too,

Basil Jamm with his unique and alternative comedy stylings takes home the Peoples Champion 2019 trophy thanks to the audience hugely enjoying his unusual comedy, and Daniel Jones who brings rooms to life with his deadplan humour and low energy anecdotes was chosen as Breakthrough Comic 2019.

Rhod Gilbert presented the trophies, after reminiscing about being in the 2003 Amused Moose Comedy Awards finals, and the final was compered by Ian Smith, another past finalist, with Josh Baulf - 2018 finalist - entertaining the crowd with votes were counted.

The other five finalists were Michael Akadiri, Patrick Spicer, Ruby Carr, Russell Arathoon and Stuart MacPherson. They beat 400+ entrants who submitted videos or attended live auditions, before live rounds throughout the spring at Karma Sanctum Hotel in Soho, and festival and showcases in the summer.

They will now take their next steps towards stardom, following the footsteps of previous winners Jack Whitehall and Sarah Millican and other winners and finalists, including Josh Widdicombe, Greg Davies, Nina Conti, Jimmy Carr, Rhod Gilbert and Romesh Ranganathan.

Pictured – Babatunde Aleshi by Andy Eaton


Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.