News: Scottish Comedian of the Year Finalists Announced

The line-up has been announced for this Sunday's Scottish Comedian of the Year Final.

This is the twelfth year of the competition. It will be hosted by the voice of ITV's Love Island and former SCOTY finalist Iain Stirling (pictured) and will take place at the Rotunda Comedy Club on 26th November. 

The event attracts over 100 entries each year from hopeful comedians dreaming of the £1000 cash prize and the opportunity to perform a five-week stint at the Adelaide Fringe Festival in Australia. This year’s event promises to showcase the hottest comedic talent Scotland has to offer.

The Rotunda Comedy Club’s 300-seat capacity means Glasgow’s newest comedy venue is the ideal place to watch the eight finalists compete for giggles and glory. Tickets are £20.

Previous SCOTY finals have featured top headliners including Mark Nelson, Scott Agnew, Susan McCabe, Bruce Fummey and Larry Dean who has just recorded an appearance on Live at the Apollo. Finalists also feature in the Best of SCOTY, the multi award-winning showcase of Scottish comedy talent at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. 


The 10 finalists are

Rosco McLelland (Glasgow Govan) - SCOTY winner 2016

Jamie Dalgleish (Glasgow Easterhouse) - SCOTY winner 2011

Leo Kearse (Dumfries) - SCOTY runner up 2016

Stuart McPherson (Edinburgh) - Best Newcomer Scottish Comedy Awards 2016

Donald Alexander (Edinburgh) - Best Newcomer Scottish Comedy Awards 2017

Kirsty Morrison (Millport) - Best New Comedian nominee 2016 Scottish Variety Awards

Marc Jennings (Clydebank) - SCOTY finalist 2016

Stephen Buchanan (Clydebank) - 2 time SCOTY finalist

Ross Leslie (Rosyth) - SCOTY finalist 2014

Sébastien Dall’Ozzo (PARIS FRANCE) - French comedian living in Edinburgh

Book tickets here:


Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.