News: Gavin Webster Wins UK Circuit Comedian of 2014

Gavin Webster

Gavin Webster has been announced today as the UK Circuit Comedian of 2014. The award is voted for by fellow professional comedians. There were 187 votes in total from other comedians and the Geordie stand-up won by a reported two votes against contenders including Zoe Lyons, Roger Monkhouse and Jeff Innocent.

Roger Monkhouse was the winner of the Best MC vote, pipping Danny McLoughlin, Dan Nightingale and Mark Olver to the top spot.

Mick Ferry, currently appearing in Funz & Gamez at the Soho Theatre, was the winner of the first UK Circuit Comedian of the Year Award last year.

Gavin Webster posted the following message on Facebook after winning the award:

"Thanks to everyone who voted for everyone. This means an awful lot. I normally don't even win raffles never mind awards. The only downside is that I have to organise next year's.

We should all be proud to be circuit comics who write our own stuff and have to traipse up and down the motorway while getting belittled by silly critics. Good on the promoters as well for making the great gigs great.

The first ever modern alternative comedian from the north east Mike Elliott (some of the older comics would have known him) unfortunately lost his battle with cancer yesterday, I'd like to dedicate this award to him, he was very funny and a big influence on lots of us.

Keep on keeping on comics and merry Christmas to you all. And in time honoured award winning style I'm off to get pissed.

Howay the lads."


Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.