News: New Act of the Year Final – Line-Up Announced


The line-up of this year's New Act of the Year Top-of-the-Bill showcase has been confirmed. The 15 acts below will appear at the Bloomsbury Theatre on January 25, 2015.

The show will be hosted by Arthur Smith and 2014’s Top-of-the-Bill Act, Alasdair Beckett-King will headline the gig. 

There has been six weeks of heats at Rich Mix in Hackney, where 144 auditionees were narrowed down to 15. On the night a panel of comedy experts and enthusiasts will nominate the Top-of-the-Bill Act for 2015. Tickets here.

SEAN PATRICK: deadpan commentary on life, love and truth

JOSH R CHERRY: original, slick material, starting to find his voice

CHRIS BETTS: long-form, punchy stand-up

ASHLEY HADEN: angry and topical and very funny

FRANCIS FOSTER: confused human being, in a ridiculous, bizarre wreckage of an existence

MIKEY BHARJ: impressions as comic comment

DON BISWAS: razor-sharp one-liners

THE JEST: innocent sketches with dark, subversive twists

RACHEL FAIRBURN: dark, observational humour with a morbid edge

NICK ELLERAY: droll and literate, laconic Australian in London

DANIEL DUFFY: a comedy snapshot of life in a bizarre Irish village

CHEEKYKITA: clown, character-comedy, surreal, offbeat, energetic and silly

JOE SUTHERLAND: caustic, camp cattiness

JENNY COLLIER: likeable, clever, fast-paced wit (pictured)

THE HERBERT: a cockney idiot with a whistle and flutes 


Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.