News: All The Edinburgh Fringe Awards

The Edinburgh Fringe Festival ends today, following 49,497 performances of 3,193 shows in 299 venues across Scotland’s capital city. The Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society has announced that by Monday afternoon, with hundreds of performances still to take place, an estimated 2,183,591 tickets had been issued for shows and events in 299 venues across the city, reflecting the continuing popularity and cultural significance of the Fringe.  This is 12% more than the overall number of tickets estimated to have been issued by the same point last year. There are now so many awards handed out at the Festival it sometimes feels that every show has picked up some kind of a gong. Here is a list of award winners from all artistic disciplines.


Allen Wright Award 
Ben Williams from Time Out Magazine


Amused Moose Laughter Award 2014

Celia Pacquola: Let Me Know How It All Works Out (Gilded Balloon)

Amnesty International Freedom of Expression Award 
Cuckooed (Traverse Theatre)


The Arches Brick Award
Christeene: The Christeene Machine (Underbelly)


Barry Award

Best Performer:

Will Franken (pictured): The Stuff They Put In Sleep (Just The Tonic)

Best Show

Bec Hill: Ellipsis (Gilded Balloon)

Best Person (Tied)

Peter Buckley Hill & Bob Slayer

Brighton Fringe Emerging Talent Award 
Lorraine & Allan (Pleasance)

The Broadway Baby Bobby Awards 
Thrill Me: The Leopold & Loeb Story (C Venues)
Semi-Toned: Toned Up! (SpaceUK)
The Duck Pond (Bedlam Theatre)


Carol Tambor Best of Edinburgh Award 
The Object Lesson (Summerhall)


The Chortle Student Comedy Award

Jamali Maddix (Laughing [email protected] Free Sisters)


Dave's Funniest Joke of the Fringe Will Franken

Tim Vine

The Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards 
Best Comedy Show 
John Kearns: Shtick (Voodoo Rooms)
Best Newcomer
Alex Edelman: Millennial (Pleasance)
Panel Prize
Funz And Gamez (Just The Tonic)


Fringe Review Outstanding Theatre Awards 
Death, Duck and the Tulip (Summerhall)
Belfast Boy  (Spotlites)


2014 Fringe Sustainable Practice Award 
The Handlebards/Peculius (Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh)


The Herald Angels



Olwen Fouere from RIVERRUN (Traverse Theatre)

Lippy  (Traverse Theatre)
Falling in love with Frida (Dance Base)
La Loba (Zoo)
Clara Brennan for Spine (Underbelly)
HUFF (Traverse Theatre)
Black Grace (Assembly)
Chris Stout and Catriona McKay for Scotland’s Harps (St Andrew and St Georges West)

Little Devil Awards: 
Andrew Maxwell: Hubble Bubble (Assembly Rooms)
Louisa Adamson, Production Manager for The God That Comes (Summerhall)


Holden Street Theatres Awards 
Mush and Me (Underbelly)
Blood at the Root (Assembly)


The Malcolm Hardee Awards

The Malcolm Hardee Award for Comic Originality:
Candy Gigi: I’m Not Lonely (The Hive)
The Malcolm Hardee Cunning Stunt Award (for best Edinburgh Fringe publicity stunt):
Christian Talbot: Hello Cruel World (Underbelly)
The Malcolm Hardee Act Most Likely/Act Least Likely To Make A Million Quid’ Award:
Luisa Omielan


The Musical Theatre Network Awards 2014
Alba – A New Scottish Musical  (SpaceUK)
Bonenkai (Underbelly)
The Duck Pond (Bedlam Theatre)
The Future for Beginners (Summerhall)
Janis Joplin: Full Tilt (Assembly)
Lorraine & Alan (Pleasance)
The Outback Games: A New Musical (SpaceUK)
Riptide: The Slasher Musical (Sweet Venues)
Symphony by Ella Hickson, Nick Payne and Tom Wells (Assembly)
Victorian Vices - The Picture of Dorian Gray (SpaceUK)


Primary Times Children's Choice Award
Arabian Nights  (Gilded Balloon) 


The Scottish Arts Club / Edinburgh Guide Award  
Donald Robertson is Not a Stand-up Comedian (Traverse Theatre)

The Scotsman Fringe First Awards 

 Winners - Week 1:

Cuckooed (Traverse Theatre)

Chef (Underbelly)

The Collector (Gilded Balloon)

Confirmation (Northern Stage)

Men in the Cities (Traverse Theatre)

Spoiling (Traverse Theatre)


Winners - Week 2:

Sanitise (Underbelly)

The Carousel (Traverse Theatre)

Pioneer (Zoo)

The Day Sam Died (New Town Theatre)

The Object Lesson (Summerhall)

The Initiate (Summerhall)

Lippy (Traverse Theatre)


Winners - Week 3:

Spine (Underbelly)

Travesti (Pleasance)

Letters Home (Edinburgh International Book Festival)

No Guts, No Heart, No Glory (Northern Stage)

Hand Made in China: Moons, Migration and Messages (Summerhall)

Pondling  (Underbelly)


So You Think You're Funny? 
Aidan Strangeman


The Stage Awards for Acting Excellence
Benny Young  for Unfaithful (Traverse Theatre)
Olwen Fouere  for RIVERRUN (Traverse Theatre)
Rosie Wyatt for Spine (Underbelly)
The ensemble  of Tumanishvili Film Actors Theatre Company of Tbilisi for Animal Farm (Assembly) 
The ensemble  of Sirens (Summerhall)
The ensemble  of The Ingenious Gentleman Don Quijote of La Mancha  (ZOO)
Declan Perring from Belfast Boy (Spotlites)
Bryan Burroughs from Beowulf: The Blockbuster (Pleasance)
April Hughes from Freak (Assembly)
Special Award Winner:
Chris Goode from Men in the Cities (Traverse Theatre)

Three Weeks Editors’ Awards
Bec And Tom's Awesome Laundry (Gilded Balloon)
Tamsin Clarke for Manuelita  (Underbelly)
Cariad Lloyd
Matt Panesh for Monkey Poet: Shit Flinging (Banshee Labyrinth)
Klanghaus  (Summerhall)
Unbound Productions for Travesti  (Pleasance)
Divallusion with Christina Bianco and Velma Celli (Assembly)
The cast and crew of The Bunker Trilogy: Agamemnon (C Venus)
Will Franken: The Stuff They Put in Sleep (Just The Tonic)
Ricardo Garcia


Total Theatre Awards


Emerging Company/Artist:

Backstage in Biscuit Land (Pleasance)

Physical/Visual Theatre:

The Object Lesson  (Summerhall)

Innovation, Experimentation & Playing with Form:

Lippy (Traverse Theatre)

Near Gone (Summerhall)

Total Theatre & Jacksons Lane Award for Circus:

Bromance (Underbelly) 

The Judges Award:

Looking for Paul (Summerhall)

Kim Noble: You’re Not Alone (Traverse Theatre)

Significant Contribution Award:




Hello! Thanks for reading all the way down. I wish I could give you a prize. But BTJ needs your support to continue - if you would like to help to keep the site going, please consider donating.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.